Our Victories: 2011-2012
Peewee SELECTS win Leaside Tournament
Minor Novice SELECTS win Leaside Tournament!
Minor Peewee A – 3rd Tournament Victory!
On Sunday February 5th, 2012 the Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee "A" won their 3rd tournament of the year with a victory at "Knight’s Challenge".   The Sharks played well throughout the tournament; out-scoring all their opponents by a total of 13-1. The Sharks were victorious over the North York Knights in the final by the score of 1-0. Front Row: Andreas Kamnik (Goalie), Liam Strijckers (Goalie) 2nd Row: Jacob Lund, Grant Morrison, Gabriel Fischer-Schmidt, Pearson Whale, Lucas Mazer, Holden Wallace, Brendan Madigan, Kyle Marchand 3rd Row: Francesco Capizzano, Julian Ezman, Sophie Jaques, Ben Scott, Mitchell Tomlinson, Hunter Sprigings, Brandon Sovran Back Row: Coaches – Brett Dowell, Patrick Madigan, Warren Sprigings, Fraser Whale
Humber Valley Sharks Novice Selects Win Tournament!
On Sunday January 23rd, the Humber Valley Sharks Novice Select Team won the Amesbury Winter Classic Select Tournament. The 3-day Tournament hosted 8 teams from across the Greater Toronto Area. A true team effort with strong defensive play and solid goaltending that allowed only 5 goals against during the entire tournament. The coaches and parents were very proud of how the players dug deep and played very well as a team that led the Sharks to their first tournament win! Front Row: Matthew Kim, Troy Symons, Thomas Carney, Christian Ferlisi, Nathan Whale, Michael Filice, Theo Talalla, Jacob Iannino, Logan Lehecka 2nd Row: Dawson Meloche, Jessica Smitiuch, Finn Saunders, Adam Whale, Mark O’Brien, Spencer McCluskey, Josh McPhail Back Row: Coaches – Stuart McClusky, Matt Saunders, Barry Symons
Humber Valley Sharks Peewee "A" Win Silver Stick Regional Tournament in Vaughan
They will move on to the International Silver Stick Final being held in Port Huron, Michigan Jan 26–29 in which 8 teams from Canada and 8 teams from the US will be participating. The top 3 A teams from the GTHL West Division, the top 4 teams from the MHL and Whitby competed in this tournament. After qualifying through the preliminary round, in the semi–final the Sharks played their archrival from the GTHL whom they are battling for first place, the Vaughan Rangers. Both teams had numerous scoring chances in the 3rd, but could not score the deciding goal in regulation. In the first overtime period, the Sharks scored to earn a birth in the final. The Sharks played Clarkson, the first place team from the MHL in the final. It was an incredibly close game but the Sharks finally broke the deadlock with 5 minutes to go in the game to win the final 1–0! Coaching Staff:  Head Coach Joe Duz, Team Manager, Michael Harris, Assistant Coaches, Doug Moffatt and Mark Redmond. On–ice Practice Coaches, Edward Jarzabek and Terry Bell, Trainer Mike Lichacz Players:  Anthony Saravo. Nicholas Lichacz, Brendan Durante, Nicholas Resendes, John–Luc Jabbour, Devin Bell, Alexander Cotter, Thomas Moffatt, Jake Biggs, William Jarzabek, Dylan Trinnaer, Kai Harris, Cameron Redmond, Jack Kristoffy, Daniel Lemon, Connor Collett, Matthew McGuigan
HV Sharks Minor Peewee A 2nd Tournament Victory!
On Sunday December 11th, the Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee "A" won the "Motown Classic" held in Detroit, Michigan. The 3–day Tournament hosted 6 teams from across Southern Ontario and Detroit. The Sharks were victorious in the semi-final by a 1–0 margin over the Oakridge Aeros. The Sharks carried the momentum into the finals with a strong effort in the championship game to take down the previously undefeated Aurora Tigers by a score of 2–1. A true team effort with strong defensive play and solid goaltending that only allowed 1 goal against in the play–offs. The coaches and parents were very proud of how the players dug deep and played very well as a team that led the Sharks to their second tournament win this year! Front Row: Liam Strijckers (Goalie), Andreas Kamnik (Goalie) 2nd Row: Holden Wallace, Grant Morrison, Kyle Marchand, Lucas Mazer, Pearson Whale, Gabriel Fischer–Schmidt, Brendan Madigan 3rd Row: Julian Ezman, Hunter Sprigings, Mitchell Tomlinson, Sophie Jaques, Jacob Lund, Francesco Capizzano, Brandon Sovran, Ben Scott Back Row: Coaches – Fraser Whale, Warren Sprigings, Patrick Madigan, Brett Dowell
Sharks Minor Bantam AA Finalists in the Waterloo Memorial Tournament Nov–2011
The Humber Valley BANTAM A team won the Humberview Huskies Bill Reaman Memorial Early Bird ’A’ Tournament held September 15–18, 2011, at Westwood Arenas. The Sharks went undefeated in the preliminary round with three wins and one tie to advance to the Final against the Willowdale Blackhawks of the GTHL East Division. The Blackhawks advanced to the Final with an unblemished record of four wins and no losses. In the Final the Sharks came out "fast and furious", overwhelming Willowdale by a score of 7 – 1. Jackson Watts of the Sharks, who scored a hat trick in the Final game, was named Tournament MVP. Congratulations to all the players and coaches for a very exciting weekend of hockey and best of luck in the upcoming season!
Humber Valley Bantam A Sharks Win Huskies Early Bird Tournament
Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee AA Mississauga Early Bird Champs!
On Sunday September 18th, the Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee "AA" GTHL team followed up the previous week’s tournament win of the Richmond Hill Early Bird Tournament by winning the Mississauaga Early Bird Tournament. The Sharks who now have started the season on a 11–0 winning streak turned aside challenges from the Toro’s, Caledon Hawks, M–Jets, M–Terriers, Streetsville and ultimately in the Final game downing Scarborough’s GTHL East’s – Ted Reeve Raiders 3–1 in a hard fought contest. Congratulations on a great team effort and start of a promising season!!
Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee A 2011 Early Bird Champs!
On Sunday September 11th the Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee "A" GTHL started the season as Tournament Champs by winning the West Mall Early Bird Tournament. The Sharks took down the previously undefeated Calendon Hawks 2–1 in the Final (in a Shoot-out!) Their strong defensive play and solid goaltending led to only one goal against in the 2 play–off games. Front Row: Andreas Kamnik (Goalie) and Liam Strijckers (Goalie) Second Row: Julian Ezman, Brendan Madigan, Pearson Whale, Grant Morrison, Gabriel Fischer-Schmidt, Jacob Lund, Holden Wallace Third Row: Brandon Sovran, Francesco Capizzano, Ben Scott, Kyle Marchand, Mitchell Tomlinson, Lucas Mazer, Sophie Jaques, Hunter Sprigings Back Row: Coaches – Warren Sprigings, Patrick Madigan, Brett Dowell, Fraser Whale
Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee AA Richmond Hill Early Bird Champs!
The Humber Valley Sharks Minor Peewee "AA" GTHL team started the 2011–2012 season on a winning note by winning the prestigious Richmond Hill Early Bird Tournament. The Sharks took down teams from Scarborough, Kingston and Newmarket on their way to a decisive final game thumping of Scarborough’s GTHL East’s – East Enders 6–1. Congratulations on a great team effort!! Front Row: Adam Kapasi (Goalie) and Antonio Sciacca (Goalie) Second Row: Andrew O’Reilly, Tyler Marks, Sam Weller, Chris Pappas, Kyle Hanford, Noah Santos, Dennis Caplice, Pierce McKinnon Third Row: Aidan Jacobs, Mathieu Walker, Tyler Vaughan, Alex Raymond, Adam Bonello, Adam Cavaliere, Ryan Fukakusa Back Row: Coaches – Asgar Kapasi, Sam Pappas, Peter Weller, Nelson Santos, Kevin Bonello